242.3

Sine my last post I put another 243.8km into my running legs. Life has been very hectic and stressful, so the blog has taken a back seat although there are not many readers out there, it a good record of my training, particularly after I accidentally lost 13 months of SportTracks data so I should try and be more regularly in updating.  I have however, now taken steeps to backup data and I an now running TC as a fall back.

My training has been going very well, with all the hard stuff over now I am happy with the level of training I have achieved leading up to Six Foot.  I felt so much stronger on my long runs, and have managed a few training PBs (although training PBs dont’r really count) and even managed a PB at the Striders Equaliser.  It has been so long since I’ve had a PB in a race,  and I can happily say I ran the whole course, no walking the hills this year – a first :-).  In addition to the running I have been throwing in a few some Pilates, PUMP classes, and some general strenght and conditioning sessions.  The medicine ball in now my best friend. 

Personally life has been a bit of roller coaster the last couple of weeks.  I now have a new niece, Ruby May, who was born on 12 February 2008.  She is just beautiful, however my sister was quite ill after the birth, so I had to take some time off work to care for her and the new baby.  I now have whole range of new skills.

In addition to the new baby, my mother’s health has dramatically deteriorated. So in between caring for my sister and the new baby I have also been caring for my mother and providing support to my father. My mother has chosen to remain at home surrounded by the love and support of our family, therefore she requires constant care.  I appreciate every moment I sharing with my mother, and often drive home in tears just feeling emotionally exhausted. 

As you can imagine with everything going on in my life at the moment Six Foot is in question.  I know I am fit and ready to go and really want to get the monkey off my back this year, however I have accepted there may be reasons outside my control that my prohibit me from this years race.  Fingers crossed.

2 Responses

  1. I regularly check and read….haha I am just a stalker thats all 🙂
    Hugs and Kisses to you and the family!!!!! I wish there was more I could do.

    You should be so proud of all the hard work you have out into training for 6ft. You have been so consistant and you always put in a 100%. It would be completely understandable for you to have crawled into bed but you just keep going. You inspire me and I know your mum must be so proud of you and all that you achieve. So what ever happens you have blitzed it already….Ray and I love you heaps!!!!

  2. You do good things with your life, Bernie G. I am privileged to know you.
    xxx Di.

Leave a Reply

